Delaware County Sheriff’s Office
Real Estate Department - Sheriff Sales
* Must have the free Acrobat Reader to view this document.
Sheriff’s Sale Disclaimer: The list shown is for the date listed at the top of the form. Changes in the status of each property may occur during the month after the list is posted. For updated information call the Real Estate Department at 610-891- 4305 or email the Real Estate Department at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Sheriff’s Foreclosure Abatement Program
In 2009, Sheriff McGinn introduced a foreclosure abatement program aimed at keeping residents in their homes. Persons being served with a Notice of Foreclosure on their properties receive information in documents that can delay action. By contacting the Consumer Credit Counseling Service of Delaware Valley (CCCSDV) at 800-989-2227, and talking to a housing councilor a 30 day stay can be put into effect delaying any action against the homeowner. The councilor will contact the lender to delay any action and work with the homeowner by reviewing their financial situation and advising on what steps can be taken. The result of the counseling could in a variety outcomes.
To be eligible to participate the property in foreclosure must be owner-occupied. For additional information, contact CCCSDV at 800-989-2227. CCCSDV has received grants from Delaware County Council to staff additional offices to handle the program.
Frequently Asked Questions
Sales take place on the third Friday of each Month at 11:00 A.M. If the third Friday is a holiday, the sale will be held on Thursday.
Sales are held in the County Council Meeting Room on the first floor of the Government Center Building , Delaware County Court House, Front St. & Veterans Square, Media, PA.
Yes. For each property to be sold there is a handbill posted in the Sheriff's Office at the Delaware County Court House and an advertisement in the local newspaper where the property is situated will appear once a week for the three weeks before the sale. In addition, there is a desk copy of the list for each month's sale available for reference in the Sheriff's Office. Copies of the list may also be purchased for $5.00.
No, the properties are not available for inspection.
You need to attend the sale at the date and time advertised. The sale is a public auction and you will have to bid for the property.
Hand money is the deposit you have to pay in cash or by certified check at the time of the sale.
The balance of your bid is payable within ten calendar days to the Sheriff in cash or by certified check.
If you do not pay the balance of your bid, you lose your hand money.
Just for one example, you may buy a property with numerous liens requiring you to pay a lot more money than what you bid for the property that you must under the law pay to these lien holders to clear what is now YOUR Title (read your problem).
Yes, there are significant differences. For information about Tax Sales or Judicial Sales, contact the Delaware County Tax Claim Bureau in the Government Center Building at the Courthouse in Media or call 610-891-4281.