Announcing the 2017 Freedom Medal Recipients

The Delaware County Veterans Memorial Association announced the recipients of the Freedom Medal Awards during a Flag Day ceremony on June 14 at the Delaware County Veterans Memorial in Newtown Square. Recipients will be honored during the 4th annual Freedom Medal Gala held in November, held to honor veterans and those in the community who have shown support and dedication to veterans. This year's military honorees are, from front left, U.S. Marine Veteran Sean Sweeney, U.S. Army Veteran Jennifer Jones, U.S. Navy Veteran Martin Costello, U.S. Marine Veteran Jerry Sweeney and U.S. Marine Veteran Bill Kinney. Honorees are, from back left,Dr. Tina Kane, principal of Coopertown Elementary School, recipient of thededication to Education Award; Delaware County Councilman Dave White, recipient of the President's Award; and David Videon, Lynn Videon, Steve Videon, Vicki Kline and Steve Kline, all recipents of theDedication to the Community award.